Pasos Pequeños para Saltos Gigantes: Fuerzas Fan-tásticas(Small Steps to Giant Leaps: Fan-tastic Forces)
Wednesday 08/12/2020
1:00 pm ET/12:00 CT/ 10:00 PT
No cost 1-hour webinar
Educators, parents/guardians, students
 
The NASA Educator Professional Development Collaborative at
Texas State University is providing a 1-hour webinar.

Participants will get an overview of the Sound Effects activity and learn about the principles of sound, specifically how to ampliand reduce sound volume, using a paper towel tube and plastic cups.Take a look back at the history of X-Planes and NASA Aeronautical Research while also looking forward to the future of NASA Aeronautics Innovation. For decades NASA has been studying aircraft noise in order to reduce noise emissions. Come learn about NASA's newest X-plane, the X-59 QueSST, and the research on Quiet Supersonic Flight.

 

 



 
 
 
 
 

Ms. Monica Uribe serves as the NASA Specialist for both Ames Research Center and Armstrong Flight Center. Her work includes developing Spanish language resources, providing professional development sessions, webinars and NASA STEM engagement sessions and activities for educators and students. Ms. Uribe holds a bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, México with a concentration in Industrial Engineering; she has several years of experience in industry as an engineer. Ms. Uribe holds a Texas teaching certification in Mathematics for grades 4-12 and has 10+ years of experience as a mathematics educator. Drawing on her experience in industry and as an educator, Ms. Uribe engages educators and students on a variety of topics in STEM Education to promote best practices in culturally responsive pedagogy and student learning. Ms. Uribe is currently pursuing a doctorate in Mathematics Education at Texas State University.